Hi guys! This weekend went by way too fast in my opinion. I have to say I am very excited to talk to you guys about my favorite thing in the world besides my husband, WINE! 🙂 But seriously, I love me some wine. When we first went vegan we quickly learned that not all wine is created equal.
One of the best websites you’ve probably never heard of is http://www.barnivore.com. This website is an amazing source of information on what wines are vegan. I couldn’t be happier to find out that my favorite wines are vegan. Including my absolute favorite: The Prisoner. Another favorite of mine is Stag’s Leap and that is also a vegan winery.
Who would’ve known? Before I was vegan I had reactions to some red wine and I never knew why. Now I know it could be egg related. I have sensitivity to eggs, but even if I didn’t, I would not eat them knowing what I know now.
Let’s be honest though, for those nights you are okay with a cheap bottle and some vegan cheese, there’s Trader Joe’s! Not only is it the vegan mecca in my opinion, they list Vegan on their cases and where they put their tasting notes.
Surprisingly, some wines are mixed with egg shells, fish bladder (isinglass), gelatin, and casein. These are meant to be additives and a fining agent.
Did you know that? I definitely did not. The best part about http://www.barnivore.com is that I can search wines wherever I am. It helps a lot when dining out too! 🙂
I hope this post helps you and I also hope you have a wonderful Monday!